Skip to Main Content

RPCV4EA Letters to the Editor to Support Climate Refugees

28 Sep 2021
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT

Join us with guest speaker, Dr. Michael Roman, who served in Peace Corps Kiribati. Since his service, Mike has been a strong advocate for the Island of Kiribati, working hard to slow the rising oceans that threaten the island by enacting effective climate legislation. Recently, Mike has been co-leading our group effort to lobby Congress to pass the Climate Displaced Persons Act (HB 2826) in order to help those individuals whose homes were lost from climate change.

 

Mike will present on the impacts of climate change on Kiribati and the Climate Displaced Refugee Act. After a presentation and question and answer session, the team will split into two groups, one that is new to writing letters to the editor and another that will go ahead and write their letters.  Working together in focused teams we can provide the feedback and support that is essential to a quality piece of writing.

 

Please feel free to reach out to Dylan Hinson, dylanhinson@gmail.com, with any questions about the Letters to The Editor events. They are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month. Mark your calendars. These techniques can be used for any topic that you feel passionately about. Peace Corps funding and support? Refugee and immigration challenges? Climate change and environment? Speak out!

 

What: LTE Writing Group - Climate Displaced Refugees

Where: Select your RSVP option under "My Attendance" below to register in advance and receive Zoom link. 

When: Tuesday, July 27, 2021, 8-9 pm ET | 7 – 8 pm CT | 6-7 pm MT | 5-6 pm PT

Questions: Contact Dylan Hinson, 503-537-0626

Attendees (4)

28 Sep 2021
8:00pm - 9:00pm EDT

Google Calendar
iCal

Bookmark/Share