Skip to Main Content

RPCV4EA Letters to the Editor that Actually Get Published

26 Oct 2021
5:00pm - 6:00pm PDT

This month, the Letters to the Editor team will once again be focusing on writing pieces in support of Carbon Pricing. Carbon pricing is currently being considered for the budget resolution and our voices can help ensure it gets in! We will be joined by guest speakers from September's successful Peace Corps 60th Anniversary Op-Ed Project which also supported the Peace Corps Reauthorization act. Frank Price not only published in his local Arizona paper, but also motivated two RPCVs in northern California to publish OpEds. Greg worked with New Mexico RPCVs and together they had 8 OpEds published around the state! Learn from the experts.

This is a time for RPCVs to come together and write letters for publication to draw attention to environmental and climate problems. We begin the meeting with a talk by a guest speaker, then talking together briefly about how we want to structure our letters. The majority of the time will be spent writing and revising our letters. Working together we can provide the feedback and support that is essential to a quality piece of writing.

 

Please come to the meeting prepared with a newspaper article you would like to target for your letter!

 

Please feel free to reach out to Dylan Hinson, dylanhinson@gmail.com, with any questions about the Letters to The Editor events. They are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month. Mark your calendars. These techniques can be used for any topic that you feel passionately about. Peace Corps funding and support? Refugee and immigration challenges? Climate change and environment? Speak out!

 

What: LTE Writing Group

Where: Select your RSVP option under "My Attendance" below to register in advance and receive Zoom link. 

When: Tuesday, October 26, 2021, 8-9 pm ET | 7 – 8 pm CT | 6-7 pm MT | 5-6 pm PT

Questions: Contact Dylan Hinson, 503-537-0626

 

Attendees (8)

26 Oct 2021
5:00pm - 6:00pm PDT

Google Calendar
iCal

Bookmark/Share